Posted in acting, drama, Education, Fun, life, lifestyle, me, Uncategorized, university

An Update | My Life

Since it’s been well over a year since I last posted anything properly on this blog (Packing Up My Life | Moving Away), I decided that an update on what I have been up to during the past year is very much needed. I have been battling with myself to start the whole blogging thing back up again, as every time I sit down and begin writing a post, it either ends up being scrapped or a whole heap of uni assignment’s are piled on top of me and it ends up being abandoned (seriously, you should see my Drafts tab at the moment- full of posts with just a title!) I’ve decided that, since its almost New Year and all, and my next uni semester isn’t going to be anywhere near as stressful as the last one (6 assessments due in the space of a week was NOT fun), I will *probably* have more time to sit down and write, which is something I have always loved doing and is therapeutic for me. I realised that, to do this, I’ll probably need to give you all an idea as to what’s been happening in my life before I confuse you all by mentioning something in a future post and you’re all like “Wait what since when did THAT happen?!”IMG_20171217_192029_923

 

Well, I might as well begin with all the boring stuff. I’ve just finished my first semester of second year on my Drama course (Being a Drama Student ). Last year was great, came out with some good grades and great friends. I’m now living in a house with 3 people on my course (I was right about my flatmates from last year, the “everything’s great with them” didn’t last long! We won’t go into that though…). This semester was ridiculously stressful, as I mentioned above, but I am glad its over and I know next semester will be so much better, as we are finally doing modules which I feel I will enjoy. I also have my house for next year sorted out; I will be moving in with a girl who lived in the flat across from mine last year and one of the girls who was in the same flat as me last year too.

I also have a boyfriend, who I actually met not long after I published my last post. We’ve been together a year and 2 months now, and it’s all going swimmingly. We went on our first holiday together at the start of September to Tenerife, which I won’t be doing a blog post on as I spent too much time drinking cocktails by the pool than taking pictures! But other than that, we’ve just been doing the usual couple-y stuff, dates and trips etc.

 

As for the blogging scene, I gave up on My Trending Stories (Changes | An Update) as similar as my excuse with this, I just got way too busy and I wasn’t keen on the set out of the website. I may begin posting there again once I’ve got into the swing of things again but, for now, I’m taking baby steps.

Lastly, mental health. If any of you remember the slightly dramatic, slightly agony-aunt-teen-magazine-esque post I did on here around a year ago (which has since been deleted because it was a pile of c**p) then you might be wondering what has happened since then. I still struggle with self-image on a daily basis (I don’t think it ever will fully disappear, it will always eat away at the back of my mind), but it is SO much better since that post. I’d just gone through a fairly awful break up with a not very nice person who’s intention was to constantly bring me down, and as a sensitive person, it really knocks you back. Moving away from home, and ultimately moving (kind of) away from him, helped. But Harry (current boyf) has also helped considerably, as well as finding friends at uni who I know won’t judge me or bring me down, who are always supportive and kind. I’m moving forward, slowly but surely, to being comfortable with myself again. It may sometimes feel like I’m taking one step forward and two back but I am getting there.

I feel like that is enough wittering on about myself for now. My social media, as always, is linked right at the bottom of this page if you are wondering what I have been up to or what I will be up to in the future. As always, if you have any requests for posts or questions about anything I’ve written here, feel free to comment or DM me on social media, I will always answer! I hope to get a new post up within the next week (don’t quote me on it though!) I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas, and an even better New Year!

Iona 🙂 x

 

 

Leave a comment